Dr. Oz’s 2-Week Rapid Weight Loss – Day 1

I am about to conquer this beast they call Dr. Oz’s 2-Week Rapid Weight Loss Plan. Today is Day 1. I started out a warm cup of water and juice from half a lemon. Afterwards, I had the breakfast smoothie, which was highly tasty and enjoyable. I used frozen strawberries, blueberries, and blackberries. I had 16 oz. of organic green tea to keep me going during late morning. To curb my appetite, I had a hass avocado.

The diet calls for 2% plain Greek yogurt, but since I’d rather steer away from dairy altogether, I opted for So Delicious Dairy Free vanilla flavor Greek yogurt. Yum!  For lunch, I sauteed asparagus, yellow bell peppers, and ~6 oz. of salmon in olive oil. I cheated and ate half of an apple, but that’s not terrible.

For dinner, I enjoyed a low sodium organic vegetable broth. I was too lazy and cheap to buy all the vegetables to make a homemade broth. I’m still getting all of the health benefits. I do add a bit of garlic salt to it for taste, but salt and spices is not something that the diet restricts.

The diet requires you to abstain from wheat (hard), artificial sweeteners (not a problem), white sugar (kind of difficult), alcohol (easy), caffeine except green tea (easy), and dairy except Greek yogurt (easy).

Although it is a 14-day program, I want to try to go on for 21 days. In those days I, Daniel, was mourning three full weeks. I ate no pleasant food, no meat or wine came into my mouth…till three whole weeks were fulfilled.” {Daniel 10:2-3}

At the end of day one, I am guilt-free because I didn’t indulge in breads and sweets – the two things I struggle with most. It feels good to have control over the food I eat, and not be a slave to it. I really need God’s strength to persevere through this. My goal is lose 10lbs. We’ll see how this goes!

Leave a Reply

